Discussions

Keep going?

Please help me settle an argument with my husband who believes that even when you're struggling you shouldn't stop. I'm a beginner who runs 5k twice a week. Sometimes l find breathing slows me down and l have to slow to a brisk walk, albeit for a 2 minutes. Doesn't help that l suffer from a blocked nose and can only breath through my mouth. Surely it's better to pace yourself. Who is right?

Sarah Sarah

Sign in or Join to reply

1. Paul

Paul Well said Sarah, the only person I race/try to beat is myself

0 20 Mar 17
  2. Sarah

Sarah Thanks so much for your advice guys. I think that as some of you have hit upon...it should be about read moreenjoying the run, not turning it into some kind of punishment. After all I'm not trying to prove anything to anyone but myself and I'm proud that I've gone from being a non-runner to running 5k twice a week. However l if I'm feeling energetic I do try to push myself...it's always nice to achieve a new goal! It's so important to listen to your body...but probably ignore your mind when it starts telling you you can't do it! Had this on Saturday but carried on regardless. Thanks again.

0 19 Mar 17
  3. Chris Pattison

Chris Pattison I'm with you Sarah. If you keep pushing regardless of the warning signs then you risk serious read moreinjury, but also you may well enter a zone where you just decide you no longer enjoy it and its not for you. There are times when various niggles have brought me to a stop over the years ... my strategy is then to keep moving forwards, and often after a few minutes or more ... I am ready to give it a good go again.

I'm all for pushing yourself (of course), but be mindful that you are doing this for enjoyment and its not some sort of torture, and be very mindful of warning signs that if ignored could lead to something more serious.

1 15 Mar 17
  4. Mark.Oliver