Discussions

Complete Novice

I have wanted to start running properly for over a year now. I used to love going to the gym and was the petite size most people are having trained and being pro-active.

My goal is to lose weight however i'm very self conscious, I am 23 and have put on more than enough weight but am scared to run in daylight and always knackered after work.

My boyfriend runs the 5k park run every Saturday however I don't think he understands how petrified I am mostly because of my weight and the looks I will get.

Any advice on how to start running to boost my confidence first?

CA Caitlin

Sign in or Join to reply

1. Amanda

Amanda Hi Caitlin, I'm quite a lot older than you but I know exactly how you feel. I was that person nearly read more2 year's ago except I wouldn't go near the gym or pool either. As Sharnie said a decent pair of trainer's and a good supportive running bra is all you need to help you feel a bit more comfortable to start with. I used C25k but any good app will do the same job. If you choose to go out alone then look straight ahead and focus on you obviously stay safe. You could go to park run as a supporter and chat to the volunteers about getting started, you could even volunteer as a tail walker see how it feels. Something else that may be available is a local C25k group it's this time of year they start. It won't be easy to start with but it will get better I can promise you that. I've lost 4 5st running, my biggest regret is worrying about what others would think and not starting my running journey earlier. Good luck, get those trainer's on log your runs on bug and start following people you will get the support here if you want it.

0 9 Jan 19
  2. Ruth M C